Rachel's cooking adventures

pesto grilled cheese

I fantasized about grilled cheese from day one in Costa Rica, and I wanted to make my first one great.

 

Ingredients (1 sandwich):

2 slices bread

butter as desired, ~1 tbsp

3 tbsp. spinached-up pesto

1/2 mozzarella ball, sliced

handful baby spinach

handful sun-dried tomatoes

IMG_1194

I used fresh whole grain bread from our favorite bakery, which made the sandwich even more delicious!

Note that you may have to rehydrate the tomatoes, which I did by soaking them in very hot water for 2 minutes. The container should tell you what to do.

First, I heated my pan to about medium-high heat. This probably varies by stove. My brother took my griddle to school (convenient), but I have found that 375F is the perfect temperature for grilled cheese if you have a way to set it.

IMG_1195

I wasn’t sure how to start without making too much of a mess, but it seemed easiest to spread pesto on one slice of bread and butter the other. I then put the buttered bread in the pan, spread the pesto on it quickly, and layered the mozzarella cheese on top of the pesto. Ta daaaa.

IMG_1197

Next up, spinach and sun-dried tomatoes.

IMG_1198

I then put the pesto-ed bread down on top of the sun-dried tomatoes and pressed it down hard so that everything would stick together. I quickly put a light layer of butter on the top, then flipped it.

IMG_1199

After just a few minutes on each side, I had a melty, delicious grilled cheese!

IMG_1200

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 15, 2012 by in quick, rachel's recipes and tagged , , , .
