Rachel's cooking adventures

chocolate decadence hot chocolate

I really wanted to make unique hot chocolate, and this stuff was awesome. The process was not flawless, so I’ll tell you what I would change if I was making it again.

Ingredients (6 mugs):

4 cups Silk coconut milk

2-3 cups skim or 2% milk: I used 2 cups but if I went for round two I would probably add a third to make it less rich.

1 can Eagle brand milk, optional.

8oz (2 1/4 large bars) nice dark chocolate, I used Ghirardelli 72%

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 tsp coconut extract

1/2 tsp cinnamon, or to taste

1/4 tsp salt

2 tbsp sugar

To top:

1/2 cup shredded coconut, toasted

whipped cream

I made this recipe in the crock pot, but that didn’t work very well as the temperature just wasn’t high enough. I recommend making it carefully over a stove in a large pot. Use low heat unless you are really watching it.

First, chop the chocolate. This is a little bit messy, but can be done pretty successfully with a big sharp knife.

IMG_1228

Then, add all the milk products to the pot. If you forgo the Eagle brand, you may need to add extra sugar later on.

Add the extracts and mix it all together. Add the salt, cinnamon, and sugar.

Stir in the cocoa powder and chocolate.

Let this heat up for ~30 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so. I had to turn my crock pot on high to make anything melt.

IMG_1229

Taste test it before you serve it. If it is too bitter from the dark chocolate add sugar and cinnamon to taste.

It is delicious! Definitely too rich for multiple cups.

Top with whipped cream and toasted coconut.

IMG_1230

The original recipe has much prettier pictures but seems like it would be too rich to drink.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 15, 2012 by in rachel's recipes and tagged , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

